Sri Lanka tour of Pakistan for limited overs series in September 2019

Pakistan will host Sri Lanka in Three ODIs and Three T20i starting in September this year before two tests as part of the World Test Championship in December 2019, the cricket boards of both countries said on Friday, August 23, 2019.

This series will be the 1st international action in the Pakistan after for 18 months. It is the 2nd tour of Sri Lanka to Pakistan since their team bus was attacked during a Test match in Lahore in March 2009.

Sri Lanka tour of Pakistan for limited overs series in September

“The PCB is pleased with the outcome of its discussions with Sri Lankan Cricket, which has supported Pakistan earlier in its efforts and actions for the complete restoration of international cricket in Pakistan,” PCB chairman Ehsan Mani said in a joint statement.

“The tour for limited overs matches will also provide Sri Lankan Cricket with an even better understanding of the ground Situation. Environmental situation before discussing the schedule of the tests.”

Sri Lankan Cricket president Shammi Silva said the two boards had a long-lasting history of friendship and they want to strengthen it more.

“The SLC security officials had visited the both the cities earlier in August and had given a positive report to SLC Officials, which made our job of decision making easy,” he said.

In a joint statement, the both cricket boards said the ODI series will begin on September 27, 2019 in Karachi where they will play the other two ODI matches on September 29, 2019 and October 2, 2019.

The Sri Lankans will then move to Lahore for three T20i matches starting on October 5, with the second match scheduled for October 7 and the final match will be on October 9, 2019.

Two Tests were also scheduled between the sides for in October have been postponed to December 2019 as PCB wanted to be played in Pakistan, but Sri Lanka want to play in neutral ground lie UAE due to their player’s security concerns.

However, Pakistan has since hosted limited-overs games featuring Zimbabwe (2015), a World XI (2017), Sri Lanka (2017) and West Indies (2018) apart from Pakistan Super League games.

Limited overs series schedule:

27 September: First ODI (Karachi)

29 September: Second ODI (Karachi)

2 October: Third ODI (Karachi)

5 October: First T20 (Lahore)

7 October: Second T20 (Lahore)

9 October: Third T20 (Lahore)

Updated: August 26, 2019 — 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *